Bummer Day…

For me, a bummer day (ya know, those days where you just feel bummed for no good reason) always equals ‘Oven Caramel Corn’!  Even writing it makes me feel like my burden is a little lighter 🙂  I got into this caramel corn habit when Kurt lived in New York for about 9 months back in 2003.  As it turned out, most Fridays during that time ended up being Caramel Corn days from dawn til’ dusk!  Though I don’t love those kind of days, I truly believe that a little comfort food can do WONDERS for brightening a mood.  So as mine cooks away in the oven I thought I’d share my favorite recipe with you!

Oven Caramel Corn

About 8-10 cups popped popcorn, I use about 1/2 cup kernels and a few tablespoons of oil in my Whirley Pop

1cup packed brown sugar

1/2cup butter or margarine

1/4cup light corn syrup

1/2teaspoon salt

1/2teaspoon baking soda

1.Heat oven to 200ºF. Put popped popcorn in a big mixing bowl . 2.Heat brown sugar, butter, corn syrup and salt in 3-quart saucepan over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until bubbly around edges. Cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally; remove from heat. Stir in baking soda.3.Pour mixture over popcorn; stir until well coated. 4. Spread on a foil lined baking sheet (or two) Bake 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

*If you’re feeling like you need the comfort but not the calories… you can cut the sauce recipe in half and still use the same amount of popcorn (this is where I was at today).   BUT for a Movie Night or really stormy days, I say cut the popcorn in half and use all of the sauce!!

6 Comments on “Bummer Day…”

  1. stephvilladavis says:

    I am salivating while reading this! I’m like you and think that comfort food perfect on those ‘bummer days’! Can’t wait to try this out 🙂

  2. Susan says:

    Yum! So the popcorn is popped already? Or 1/2 cup of unpopped?

  3. jessica prochnow says:

    you are so cute. i love this post. it is so true. is this my mom’s recipe? i totally forgot about it! how could that happen??

    • Dani says:

      This is actually a variation of a Betty Crocker recipe- it gets a little crispier! But speaking of- I need to get your mom’s recipe again- it’s wonderful and gooey and you just use the microwave!! Thanks for reminding me:-)


Leave a Reply

