Book a Month Club: January

So this year I decided that for my New Years Resolution (which by the way I never do) I was going to challenge myself to read at least a book a month. I thought that by sharing my progress, you fellow bloggers might hold me accountable!

*Side-note, I LOVE to read!  There have probably been years when I read a dozen books a month- so this challenge both to me and probably to most of you who know me sounds, how should I put it… LAME!  But geez- I wasn’t prepared for the hit my reading habit would take with the arrival of Ava 🙂  All of a sudden I had a very strong feeling that something very important was missing from my life and I am on a mission to get it back!

January stated out less than strong.  The first book I picked up was one that has been recommended to me many times through the years.  Wally Lamb’s, I Know This Much Is True.  Unfortunately I had to take the advise of my favorite reading friend on this one… she always says that if you’re just not digging a book put it down and start something else- there are too many good books out there to force yourself to finish one you’re not into.   I felt really bad not completing  this one.  I really liked Wally Lamb’s, She’ Come Undone, which I read in High School…  But though I liked his writing and was interested in the story, it just wasn’t the right time.  Maybe next year 🙂

Next, feeling slightly defeated and scared that maybe I no longer possessed the ability to read a novel that wasn’t Harry Potter or Twilight I went for a beach read… Ahhhh Danielle Steel!   I went through my mom’s collection of DS and came away with something that I was just sure I could do.  Danielle Steel’s, Sisters.  This book was just what I needed to get my confidence back.  I busted through this girly drama in about 2 days flat and though slightly embarrassed that this would be my big jumping off point for the challenge I was relieved to have finished a book.  And, if anyone needs a mindless beach read this summer, I’d recommend it!

Up next, Cormac McCarthy’s, The Road.  Oprah’s Book Club, Pulitzer Prize winner, the author of  No Country For Old Men and the movie just came out… feeling better about this one!  Though super heavy, depressing and pretty disturbing, it was wonderfully written, totally captivating, and thought provoking.  It was one of those books that you just want to keep reading (mostly just so it will be over) and then as soon as you finish it you KNOW it was worth reading!  Read it! Check out the movie trailer,  it looks great AND I think if I had seen it before I read the book it would have come together a little more quickly for me.

I would have been thrilled with myself for just getting two books under my belt for January, but I actually got a third in.  James Ellroy’s, The Black Dhalia.  I really surprised myself with this one.  I generally shy away from books about time periods that I am unfamiliar with (so I don’t read much that isn’t about present day) so to willingly choose a book that takes place in the 40’s was a stretch for me.  I really considered putting it down within the first few chapters then all of a sudden I was hooked… Corruption within the LAPD, a crazy murder mystery, a serious love triangle (or 2), friendship, betrayal,  the lengths a man can/will go to to quiet his demons… Yay! Sounds like a good movie (I’ll have to check it out!)

I’m feeling good about the progress I’ve made so far but know that things are going to get pretty sticky when Sorenson #4 shows up!  Until then I’m really going to try to stay on track.  If you have any recommendations for me I’d Love them.  I’ve been seriously out of the loop for a few years and would love to read some of the books you love!

7 Comments on “Book a Month Club: January”

  1. Rochelle Turri says:

    You motivated me… I finished a book today, which I haven’t done in way too long! Thanks- love you!

  2. Dani says:

    yay! what book?

  3. Lorena says:

    What a great idea! I found the same struggle once I had Keely with finding the time to sit and enjoy a good book. It’s nice to get that habit started again. I’ll have to check out THE ROAD after I finish THE TWILIGHT SAGA, thanks again 🙂

  4. sehayes says:

    Have you read anything by Francine Rivers? “Redeemed” is a good read. She puts books of the Bible into a story.. I loved it. And one of my fav’s is “Safely Home” by Randy Alcorn. It’s about the persecuted church and has a really interesting perspective on how heaven and earth are connected. Not necessarily a Biblical perspective, but interesting for sure!

  5. […] A Month Club: February Jump to Comments Month 2 of the New Years Resolution down!  I feel like I’m picking up speed and really enjoying reading again- just wish I had a […]

  6. Paula says:

    “I Know This Much Is True” is one of my ALL-TIME FAVORITES!!! read it a second time immediately after finishing the first time…. the characters really pull you into their hearts and lives.


Leave a Reply

