Mini Gold Bars

I don’t know if I was alone in my rebellion, but in elementary school instead of buying milk with the 35 cents my mom put in my lunchbox, I used to buy a Gold Bar!  If you don’t know what a Gold Bar is AND you love peanut butter, your life will not be complete until you try them!  It is the most wonderful peanut-butter-chocolate treat you will ever experience!  I was introduced to the following recipe through a friend who I think might love these little guys as much as I do (thanks Sarah!)

Check out Chow City for this and more wonderful recipes!

I altered the original recipe slightly in order to make 24 individual Gold Bars

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup butter
1cups graham cracker crumbs
1 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter
3/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips
2 tablespoons peanut butter

DIRECTIONS:

Melt 1/2 cup peanut butter and butter in microwave until smooth.  Add this mixture to the graham cracker crumbs and confectioners’ sugar and mix until well blended- I used my Kitchenaid mixer. Prepare a mini-muffin tin with mini-muffin cups.  Using a small spoon (I used one of Ava’s) Drop about a tablespoon of the mixture into mini-muffin cups and press down slightly. In a metal bowl over simmering water, or in the microwave, melt the chocolate chips with the2 tablespoons of peanut butter, stirring occasionally until smooth. Drop a dollop over the peanut butter mixture in each muffin cup. Refrigerate to set- about one hour.

2 Comments on “Mini Gold Bars”

  1. jessica prochnow says:

    These may be my favorite little desserts ever…

  2. Sarah says:

    I had to make these after you did. They just looked too good not to 🙂


Leave a Reply

