You Know You’re Pregnant When… FOOD

I have to say that from the moment the morning sickness phase of this pregnancy passed, the most important thing in my day is food!  Not just any food, but very specific (some may say weird) foods and food combos!  Now to me and my immediate family this may not seem too out of character.  I have been known to often invent “fun foods” as my little brother calls them- putting together a funky combo of ingredients and usually completing the dish with a dipping sauce of some sort.

I don’t think it’s that the foods I’m craving are too strange for the general public to enjoy it’s just the urgency with which I must prepare these “meals” once they cross my mind.  It’s like I can’t make it to the kitchen quick enough 🙂  Here are a few that for the last few weeks I just can’t live without… I swear they are delicious!

Dani’s Tuna

1 can solid albacore tuna

1 diced granny smith apple

diced ‘hot’ banana peppers

1 diced celery stalk

1 TB olive oil

California garlic salt to taste

red pepper flakes

black pepper

1 TB salted sunflower seeds

Frozen PB Banana

1 banana split

slather with peanut butter

dollop with cool whip

sprinkle with mini chocolate chips

freeze for one hour

(I have to keep a premade one of these in the freezer at all time- when the craving strikes I just can’t wait an hour and it really has to be frozen!)

Peanut Butter Pie

I got this wonderful recipe on Chow City and I’m sad to say I only had help on two slices!  But, it is a Weight Watchers Recipe AND I forgot about the chocolate chips so I’m not feeling too bad about it!

5 Comments on “You Know You’re Pregnant When… FOOD”

  1. Sarah says:

    Dani, I don’t think this was meant to be hilarious but Jer and I had a good laugh over the tuna. I’m sorry, friend, but GROSS!! Banana peppers?! Really? You lost us on that one! However, the bananas and pie sound pretty good-we’ll have to give those a try! Glad you have your appetite back!

    • Dani says:

      Glad you got a chuckle 🙂 I actually eat this one un-pregnant! Oh man… But I’d pretty much put those pepper rings on anything, so I guess my problems start there!

  2. I second Sarah…the last two sound good, but the tuna is…random. I think I’ll be going to the store today for fixings to make the frozen PB banana! Glad you’re feeling better!

  3. Crystal says:

    Yum! Satisfying those pregnant cravings is the best! I had a serious craving for those silly little banana peppers too, we always HAD to have a jar in the house haha!

    • jessica prochnow says:

      Hey girls – don’t dog on the tuna recipe until you try it! 🙂 I think tuna with mayo and mustard is so blah now. It is a beautiful conglomeration of yumminess! I love peanut butter pie and only ever have it at Thanksgiving! So I will have to try this weight watcher recipe! Thanks! You are so cute Dani.


Leave a Reply

