Book A Month Club: March

This month was a good one.  I LOVED all three of the books I read!  They are all pretty different so hopefully everyone will find one that appeals to them 🙂

Rather than attempt to do these stories justice by writing my own overviews, I just cut and pasted some that I found online.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson-  I was a little bit intimidated by this almost 600 page book- but honestly it flew by!  If you’re looking for a page turner with interesting characters, and a twisty and unique storyline- give it a try!

“Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared from a family gathering on the island owned and inhabited by the powerful Vanger clan. Her body was never found, yet her uncle is convinced it was murder and that the killer is a member of his own tightly knit but dysfunctional family. He employs disgraced financial journalist Mikael Blomkvist and the tattooed, ruthless computer hacker Lisbeth Salander to investigate. When the pair link Harriet’s disappearance to a number of grotesque murders from almost forty years ago, they begin to unravel a dark and appalling family history. But the Vanger’s are a secretive clan, and Blomkvist and Salander are about to find out just how far they are prepared to go to protect themselves. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is based on the trilogy of books by Stieg Larsson and has sold over 7 million copies worldwide. Tragically, Larsson did not live to see the phenomenon his work has become as he died suddenly in 2004 soon after delivering the manuscripts to his Swedish publisher.”

Dream When You’re Feeling Blue by Elizabeth Berg-  This book was so cute and wholesome!  It was such a refreshing read, a book that just made me smile and really enjoy my few minutes a day that I spent with these characters!

“New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg takes us to Chicago at the time of World War II in this wonderful story about three sisters, their lively Irish family, and the men they love.
As the novel opens, Kitty and Louise Heaney say good-bye to their boyfriends Julian and Michael, who are going to fight overseas. On the domestic front, meat is rationed, children participate in metal drives, and Tommy Dorsey and Glenn Miller play songs that offer hope and lift spirits. And now the Heaney sisters sit at their kitchen table every evening to write letters–Louise to her fiancé, Kitty to the man she wishes fervently would propose, and Tish to an ever-changing group of men she meets at USO dances. In the letters the sisters send and receive are intimate glimpses of life both on the battlefront and at home. For Kitty, a confident, headstrong young woman, the departure of her boyfriend and the lessons she learns about love, resilience, and war will bring a surprise and a secret, and will lead her to a radical action for those she loves. The lifelong consequences of the choices the Heaney sisters make are at the heart of this superb novel about the power of love and the enduring strength of family.”

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller-  Donald Miller’s first book, Blue Like Jazz is one of my all time favorites, so when I saw that he had just released a new book I placed my order and patiently waited for it to arrive in my mailbox.  I was not disappointed.  Miller has a very realistic voice- one that is so easy to relate to and so honest.  He writes about those things that most of us are thinking but are afraid to say out loud.  He is a Christian, a writer, just a man, who decided that if he was going to write about his life he wanted to be a character in a better story- this book is about how he ‘edited’ his life in order to make that possible.  I left this book feeling hopeful and inspired.. it is one I know I will revisit through the years, one that  has the power to provoke change…

“In A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, Donald Miller works alongside two filmmakers to adapt his life to the screen as they write a screenplay of his life. Miller shares his thoughts on life as a story as he comes to the awareness that if his life were shown on the big screen the way it is, that the viewers would “stab each other in the necks with drinking straws.” To summarize too much would ruin your reading experience of this book. Let me start by saying this book changed me and the way I see life. I have read this book twice in the last few weeks, wrestling with what could possibly be said in a review and how I am going to “rewrite my life.”  It motivated me to want to live a better story and help others do the same. Think about what makes your favorite movies or stories meaningful to you. “The elements that made a story meaningful are the same that make a life meaningful” (p.39). In his usual style of humor and mental wanderings, Donald Miller has released his most powerful book to date. I want everyone I know to read this book; I think it is that important. We all want to live a great story, but we don’t want to pay the price and make the sacrifice to do it. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is a challenge to live. So live!”
5 Comments on “Book A Month Club: March”

  1. Paula says:

    great reads! i read “dream when you’re feeling blue” a few years ago when i was really, really sick and you’re right – it was joyful, happy quick read! love those elizabeth berg stories! have read great things about “million miles” and am looking forward to reading it! you know – our library system has almost ANY book you’ll want to read – and often, sooner than you can order them. i go through and put a bunch on hold and read them as they come in… save a bunch of $$$$! of course, i have fewer books to sell back to page two for credit to BUY BOOKS! but, hmmm… interesting cycle there! if i read something i truly ,truly LOVE – then i will buy it for keeps!

    • Dani says:

      I am so impatient and (currently) lazy that ordering that book on Amazon seemed the least labor intensive way to get it in my hands ASAP… HaHa! BUT Ava and I do go to the library regularly! I had a feeling that I would want to keep this new Miller book so I felt OK buying it- I love buying a good book and then passing it along to someone I know would really love it! What are you reading right now? Have you picked up the new Jodi Picoult? I’m really hoping the Easter Bunny puts it in my basket! If not I’m afraid Amazon might be getting some more business from me 😉

  2. crystalbear23 says:

    Ohhhh a couple of these look GOOD especially the third. Thanks so much for the great book advice! By the way I wasn’t sure if I told you I bought Traveling Light by Max Lucado and just wanted to say a BIG thanks for a that recommendation. What a great book! I actually got one that’s a set of 3 of his books in one, all brillant, a great discovery. Keep the reviews coming! : )

  3. […] The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo- Check! […]


Leave a Reply

