Book A Month Club: August

Got some good books under my belt this month!  Thanks so much Lyn for the recommendations and for letting me borrow these two!

Alice and I have a special bond through ‘Practical Magic’ ( 😉 Roche). I don’t know if it is my obsession with that story that has her set apart in my mind as one of the ‘greats’, but I always enjoy her books!  I think what I am drawn to is the way she develops her characters.   I love that she reveals characters on so many levels and allows them to unfold throughout the story.  She is realistic as she shows their actions (no matter how extremely cruel or noble or seemingly unwarranted) and how those things affect their place in society, but she also shows us that it is their experiences, their past, and the condition of their individual hearts that truly drives them.  She illustrates beautifully that everyone has a story that has brought them to the here and now and that along the way, we are sometimes blessed to meet people willing to ‘forge the fire’ in order to truly understand us.  I believe this in life and love reading her stories!  Though they are usually pretty dark and sometimes hard to get through, I always leave with feelings of gratitude for the few in my life who have taken the journey into my heart to know me.  She also writes with a bit of a mystic undertone and it just really speaks my love language… (there’s the Harry Potter fanatic coming out again)!  I don’t know if this was my favorite Hoffman novel, but I liked it and I think that has been true for all of her novels I have read in the past.

The second Steig Larsson novel is AWESOME!  I liked “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” but I LOVED “The Girl Who Played With Fire”!  I wasn’t in a huge hurry to read the second novel and now after reading it I am not in a hurry to read the 3rd.  Mostly because, one, I don’ t think it could be as good as the second and two, it is the LAST ONE!  Oh how I hate it when I get to follow characters though multiple stories and then it ends… but, aside from my weird friendships with fictitious characters, I absolutely love when I find a series that I really enjoy.  The characters are unpredictable and unique, the story is interesting and and there is a ton of action.  This novel made me excited to share it (probably in movie form) with Kurt- that means it was pretty good 🙂  Anyone read “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest”?  What did you think?

Alice Hoffman’s new novel, The Story Sisters, charts the lives of three sisters–Elv, Claire, and Meg. Each has a fate she must meet alone: one on a country road, one in the streets of Paris, and one in the corridors of her own imagination. Inhabiting their world are a charismatic man who cannot tell the truth, a neighbor who is not who he appears to be, a clumsy boy in Paris who falls in love and stays there, a detective who finds his heart’s desire, and a demon who will not let go.
What does a mother do when one of her children goes astray? How does she save one daughter without sacrificing the others? How deep can love go, and how far can it take you? These are the questions this luminous novel asks.
At once a coming-of-age tale, a family saga, and a love story of erotic longing, The Story Sisters sifts through the miraculous and the mundane as the girls become women and their choices haunt them, change them and, finally, redeem them. It confirms Alice Hoffman’s reputation as “a writer whose keen ear for the measure struck by the beat of the human heart is unparalleled” (The Chicago Tribune).

Mikael Blomkvist, crusading journalist and publisher of the magazine Millennium, has decided to run a story that will expose an extensive sex trafficking operation between Eastern Europe and Sweden, implicating well-known and highly placed members of Swedish society, business, and government. But he has no idea just how explosive the story will be until, on the eve of publication, the two investigating reporters are murdered. And even more shocking for Blomkvist: the fingerprints found on the murder weapon belong to Lisbeth Salander–the troubled, wise-beyond-her-years genius hacker who came to his aid in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and who now becomes the focus and fierce heart of The Girl Who Played with Fire. As Blomkvist, alone in his belief in Salander’s innocence, plunges into an investigation of the slayings, Salander herself is drawn into a murderous hunt in which she is the prey, and which compels her to revisit her dark past in an effort to settle with it once and for all.


3 Comments on “Book A Month Club: August”

  1. ryandroche says:

    i wanna read that alice hoffman! also, my mom said the girl who kicked the hornet’s nest is the best out of the 3! i may have to give those a go myself! xoxo

  2. I’m about half way through “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets Nest”… Starting school and the internship has really slowed down my summer reading pace, but I will be sure to pass this one on to you as soon as I’m finished!

    Glad you liked the other two and I could finally reciprocate sharing some good reads 🙂

    Love!

  3. […] The Girl Who Played with Fire- Check! […]


Leave a Reply

