Blendin’ up some Elle food

I seriously scrounge around for activities each morning and afternoon to keep Ava and I busy… When I’m out of ideas we usually just end up doing a craft (cutting up my old magazines and gluing the scraps to boxes and paper) 🙂  Today when I found myself turning to craft-time #2 I decided that rather than vacuum up the paper mess again we should try something new.

In accidentally opening up some of my junk email I had run across this recipe for making baby cereal from scratch.  So, since the kitchen needed a good cleaning anyway we decided that the experiment was worth it.   It looked easy enough for a 2 year old to help with and if it worked I knew we’d use it up on our hungry little baby!

We did it!  Not only was it a fun way to use up some of our afternoon, but I have to say I felt very accomplished with our cereal chilling away in the freezer!  I am so happy to feed Elle this cereal made with love from Ave and I!

Here’s what we learned:

Babies digest rice easily and are less likely to be allergic to it than to any other grain. That’s why it’s a perfect first food. Brown rice, which is called for in this recipe, is extra nutritious since the vitamin-packed outer husk is still intact.

Avocado makes a great first food for baby due to its texture and creaminess as well as its high nutrient content.  Avocados are often called one of nature’s perfect foods because they are said to contain everything a person needs to survive.  A wonderful “good fat” food for baby’s brain and physical development, try an avocado as baby’s first food instead of refined cereals.

So here’s what we made:


Brown Rice Cereal with Avocado

1 cup brown rice, cooked according to package directions

1/3 avocado

6 ounces breast milk, formula or water

Place the cooked brown rice in a blender with the breast milk/water/formula and avocado. Puree until it’s as smooth as possible. Pour the cereal into ice trays, cover and freeze overnight. Once frozen, pop the cubes out of the trays, place them in a freezer bag or container that’s labeled with the date, and return it to the freezer. Lasts up to two months.

Defrost the cubes, and add more breast milk or formula to develop a smooth consistency. For babies just starting solids, thin the cereal to a semi-liquid consistency. Warm the cereal slightly, if desired. You can change the flavor of the cereal by adding different strained fruits or veggies once your baby has started to eat those foods.

Side-note:

*I am loving this Costco find… fully cooked frozen brown rice!  You just scoop whatever amount of the frozen rice into a microwave safe dish and heat for 1-2 minutes or scoop it right into a skillet and toss it around until heated through!  I am SO bad at rice… this yellow bag has been such a lifesaver!
Noelle loved her first homemade dinner tonight! I just popped one of the frozen squares into a bowl and defrosted it, no need to add anymore milk, stirred it up and spooned it in!  As you can see she couldn’t get enough and took to licking her seat to get every last bite 😉
4 Comments on “Blendin’ up some Elle food”

  1. Susan Hayes says:

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve been wondering about giving Sarah some avocado – we’ll be making this for sure.

  2. Sarah says:

    CUTE picture of Noelle! I have had your tray in the back of my car for weeks! If you’re going to the park tomorrow, please remind me!!

    Thanks for the rice tip! I am terrible at rice too. Like seriously deficient. Everytime I make it, it bubbles all over the place and makes my stove a wreck. And then it’s always mushy. I guess I just think of P.F. Chang’s brown rice as my standard. Sooooo good!!

  3. jessica says:

    Good idea! That sounds easy and worth the little bit of effort. At least with that recipe she gets some healthy fat which they don’t get too much of in instant rice cereal. That is awesome! Good work mama! 🙂

  4. […] just to see and…she loved it.  From pretty much day one she ate it like a pro!  In a previous post Ava and I made Elle some rice cereal with Avocado…a hit!  So at our doctors appointment this […]


Leave a Reply

