Finished the Third

The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo– Check!

The Girl Who Played with Fire– Check!

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest– CHECK!

Loved it!  Loved all 3! I recommend the Millennium Series.  The writing has a ton of detail.  This was probably the hardest thing for me to adjust to as I read.  I wanted to catalog every name and event.  Thankfully I quickly realized that I could relax and that the important elements would find their way to the front of my mind.  Each novel follows the previous one perfectly but they each have such a unique perspective that you really do feel like you read 3 different books.  I still loved the  2nd one best (I think because it centers on Lisbeth’s character).  The third was great and tied up the lose ends in such a satisfying way.  This in my opinion is the brilliance behind doing a series.  If you like a good page turner, some edgy characters, have any interest in investigative journalism, computer hacking, conspiracy within the government system… ya know- the stuff of great thrillers- you should take a time out- and READ!

Here’s a summary:

Beginning right after the events in The Girl Who Played With Fire, Lisbeth Salander is in critical condition at a Stockholm hospital under armed guard.  She is the prime suspect in multiple murders.  Journalist Mikael “Kalle” Blomkvist is determined to prove her innocence, as well as demonstrate her mistreatment at the hands of the state for her entire life.

I also just learned this…”Larsson, who was disgusted by sexual violence, witnessed the gang rape of a young girl when he was 15. The author never forgave himself for failing to help the girl, whose name was Lisbeth – like the young heroine of his books, herself a rape victim, which inspired the theme of sexual violence against women in his books.”

2 Comments on “Finished the Third”

  1. Paula says:

    the third is waiting for me. i would have started it this past weekend, but it’s a loaner from a friend and i have a library one that will be due before soon – so chose that one instead (“the 19th wife”)… THEN, it’s on to the “hornet’s nest”!

  2. I’m glad you liked it D! I’m gonna have to revisit the book now that I have some more free time and can focus! HA! 🙂


Leave a Reply

