our version of a beach bod

With a beach vacation on the horizon and swimsuit wearing looming, we are focusing on healthy snacking over here.  I am not one of those gals who does very well going without things that I love, thrives on having a deadline, or who can really even function with any type of diet.  So, my beach bod goals:

Acceptance.

To feel healthy.

Embrace my strength.

Get energized.

For me, step 1 is buying a swimsuit that fits well.  This means some much needed boost (another thing nobody thought to tell me about breastfeeding 2 babies) and the right size to cover everything and allow me to play with the beauties. Two, to add as many healthy snacks as I can.  I don’t plan on cutting out sugar or booze or fat… I just hope that in adding healthy options to our fridge maybe I won’t have as much room for the junk that I tend to go for when I haven’t eaten all day. I want to focus on rest and sleep.  I will try to relax and just get done the things that are necessary and try to take advantage of the sleep time that Elle offers!  Kurt and I have also committed to a minimal number of workouts before we go.  Things that we consider fun (as fun as a work out can be) and can do together. I made a little scratch chart… we’ll see how it goes.  Wish us luck!

(notice, we have actually done a few workouts! oh, and we got the idea for our memo board here.  ours still needs some work but I love the idea!)

Here are some healthy snacks that have found their way into the snack rotation:

Lentals (hot or cold)

Baby Cucumbers

Apples with natural Peanut Butter

Light String Cheese

Edamame

Eggs

Brown Rice Cakes

Marcona Almonds

Sliced Turkey

Sliced Avocado with Sliced Cheese

Rice Crackers with Hummus

Baby Bell Peppers

Turkey Pepperoni’s

As a side note: I will be finishing this flourless chocolate cake before the weeks end, just in time to finish the pan of brownies I will be making for Kurt’s Birthday ’round 2′ on Friday!

Trader Joe’s flourless chocolate cake. Add some ice cream and in our case some peanut butter chocolate sauce- ummmm… yum! And, it’s Gluten Free if that’s important to ya!

Lets be honest, I think the main goal I will focus on for the bod a’la beach vacay will be acceptance .

Happy St. Patty’s day friends!  Cheers to some green beer tonight!  {Geez, I’m hopeless 😉 }

One Comment on “our version of a beach bod”

  1. Kayla Mae says:

    I think I need to get on board with this “beach bod” routine. “Fun” work outs are the only kind I like/do!! Haha


Leave a Reply

