Sanibel, FL

Sanibel Island, Florida= Highly Recommend!

And if you EVER get a chance to do it Sorenson-Style, drop everything, pack your bags and wait patiently for Mom and Dad S to pick you up!  We are beyond thankful for this wonderful ‘summer tease’ vacay with our parents/grandparents! We brought home enough memories (and seashells) to tide us over for a long long time 😉
We’re going to break this blog down a little differently… mostly because, try as I did (not that hard), I could not narrow down the pics.  So here goes with more swimsuit pictures than you ever wanted to see of the Sorenson Family!

Section One: Getting to the beach

If you asked us how the girls did on the flight out, immediately afterward we would have said, “Ava was great, Elle not so much.”  After having experienced the flight home… I don’t even remember the flight out but I’m pretty sure I would take that first flight ANY DAY.  Though Ava was perfect on all flying (and driving) legs of the trip, Elle was SO bad!  Now, I love that baby.  More than anything. But she was so unbelievably challenging that there are almost no words… almost.  I’ll just say, there were tears. mine. end of story.  Now, back to the trip out, check out all those bags!  The drive, though a little long (for me), was beautiful!  And, how did we quiet our loud one? I propped some Sid The Science Kid right in front of her little face!

____________________________________________________________________________

Section 2: Every waking moment Pool Time

Look at these cuties on day one.  I want to dive right into this picture right now!

There was a hair salon.  Open for business any time someone would respond to our little princess’s broken record question, “Can we go swimming after this?”  or later in the week respond to her revised version, “Do you know what I like? Swimming.”

Only time she was content. Like sister, like sister.  Well, pool time it is 🙂

We’ve got a swimmer (she comes WITH the tube) and a waver, “Hi Da”  Me (repeatedly) “I’m Mom, but hi Elle”

Family swimming. I can’t think of anything better.

We had so much fun enjoying how easy-going and fun our Ava girl is.  She is a traveler just like her Dad.  She was NOT ready to come home. Not one bit!

__________________________________________________________________________

Section 3: Our one family picture: The Grandparents are cute and so is Elle when she’s not whining

Think this was my favorite restaurant, Cips.  Can’t say the Long Island Iced Tea and Margaritas all around didn’t help after a full day of sunshine!
cute.

cute. cute. cute.
____________________________________________________________________________

Section 4: Beaching, Shelling and Snacking

“Elle don’t eat sand”  Baby loves ocean, beach, shells… mostly for eating, but love nonetheless.  Ava was not happy on day one.  Fear settles in as we wonder what we will do with this girl for the countless beach vacations that the future was sure to hold for our family.  AHHHHHHH! Ken and Kurt contemplate…


Our girl comes through.  Praise God! Though she’s not into the water part, we’ve got a beach walking, shell collecting gal!  Thankful for her Daddy who did some therapy and converted our ‘beach hater’!

Eating a shell… keep this picture small please, my hair- yikes!… Ava doing some digging

Now this is more like the scenes I’ve had in my head all these years… How beautiful to watch dreams become reality and having these moments caught on film… LOVE!

These beaches were so awesome.  You can’t really tell in the pictures but if you dig into the wet sand with your heel, it’s just shells and shells underneath- so cool!

____________________________________________________________________________

Section 5: “Here we go-go-go-go…. on an adventure” (hope there are some Cat in the Hat cartoon fans out there and I hope when you read this that dang song gets stuck in your head too!)

Don’t they look like they are on a mission and ready for an adventure?  They are.

We loaded them up and biked ’em around.  It was so much fun, mostly because there wasn’t so much as a hill to make this ride feel like a workout.  There was sweating, but that’s Florida, and Mary and I decided that the sweating was really good for cleaning our our pores… so a very successful morning overall.  And, Elle ends up holding someone’s hand… cute every time.

____________________________________________________________________________

Section 6: The Gator hunt and I think I’m funny

We heard about some Alligator hot spots.  We headed over at least 3 times to snag a look.  Kurt- “Hmmmm, where are those guys?”
This, much to our disappointment is the only Gator we saw.

____________________________________________________________________________

Section 7: I think I’m a photographer

Everyone takes this picture at the beach, right?  It’s some kind of club I think- I don’t know much about it, but I think I’m in.

Oh, ya know, the highlights, low lights, shampoo, conditioner, etc. from Ava’s Salon.


Baby Havianas… Have you ever seen anything so adorable in all you life?  Well just wait til I capture a picture of Elle in hers…

Wanna visit yet?

How about now?
13 Comments on “Sanibel, FL”

  1. toemailer says:

    Some cool toemail type shots there which we would be more than happy to post if you do not mind? 🙂

  2. Mary says:

    I love this blog, Dani, and not just because I’m in half the pictures. It’s a great re-cap and lol entertaining. I want to go back!

    • Dani says:

      I love this blog too (despite the amount of pictures I’m in, haha!)! I read it about every hour and wish we were still there! Thanks again for a wonderful trip!

  3. toemailer says:

    Actually you just have to click on my name but here is the link anyway. 🙂
    http://toemail.wordpress.com

  4. jessica says:

    Oh Wow! This is such a fun re-cap of your trip! 🙂 Made me smile. Glad you all had a great time! xoxo

  5. Dani says:

    Made me really excited for the WHOLE Sorenson clan to go on a trip together! I have my ‘traveling with 2’ advise deeply, DEEPLY embedded in my being 😉 Hope to see you 4 soon! XO

  6. toemailer says:

    Ok! What was the location of those foot shots?

  7. […] Baby Havianas… Have you ever seen anything so adorable in all you life?” More photos and story here. […]

  8. toemailer says:

    It’s posted now and we hope you like it! Thanks so much for participating in toemail, we really appreciate it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

