1000 Gifts. Chapter 11. The End.

This lovely book does come to an end here, CHAPTER 11… the most beautiful part, our list of gifts can continue forever.
“Crazy, I know, but until eucharisteo had me write the graces on paper, in my own handwriting, until it alerted my mind to see the graces in the details of my very own life, I hadn’t really known.  With every grace, He sings, “You are precious to me.  You are honored, and I love you” (Isaiah 43:4)…”  -Ann Voskamp

BOOK CLUB- CHAPTER 11

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Gifts: accomplishments made sweeter surrounded by loved ones, old friend made new, craft gifts filled to the brim with love, laughing at inappropriate times, food that feeds your soul, learning through observation, new growth (talking about my eyebrows here 😉 ),  miscommunications that lead to a firmer foundation, remembering us 5- loving that we are now 10 strong, wedding anticipation, finishing something.
That’s our little Kevy… graduating college.  Since he informed all that this is what he was thinking as Kay went up to retrieve her diploma the previous evening, I thought it only fair that I send him similar vibes.
Our gift for Kev. The song that started it all.  I guess it doesn’t have much to do with college, but graduating from college seems to lend itself to digging up some nostalgic memories.
So:  It was Kev’s senior year of high school.  All of us were at a New Years party.  Kev took us aside to play us a song on his guitar.  Kurt and I looked at each other like, ‘okaaaaaaaay’.  He opened his mouth.  We were floored. Completely.  It was the single moment when we knew he’d see greatness.  For that reason, ‘Tick Tock’ is kinda special to us.  Now, hopefully he’ll always remember that.
What a spread.  Those Herigs sure know how to celebrate an accomplishment and feed a crowd… and Mitch, Lyn, Kurt and I sure know how to put food into pre-labeled and set up serving dishes.
Happy Mother’s Day. Happy Father’s Day. Happy Anniversary. Happy Birthday… the list will go on until the buyers remorse subsides from our dual sunglasses purchase.  But, ‘Woo Hoo’, do we feel cool!
Kurt and I sat down Friday night to watch our weekly ‘Bethenny’ and realized that it was the finale.  It took about .2 seconds for me to jump up to think of a way to make it special. Here’s a little tidbit about me: I LIVE FOR REALITY TV FINALES… well, not really.  But, I do get very excited about them and like to make them something of an event. This usually just means that special food and drink are involved.  Well,  I don’t know how that’s very different from every other night that i watch the shows… hmmmm.  Anyway, Jo had given me a bottle of Skinny Girl Margarita that I’d been saving up for something special: perfect!  So, we SG Margarita’d and watched.  Will we buy another bottle of SKM? The jury’s still out.  If we do, it will probably be based on our Jason-Bethenny love 😉 We had some good laughs- sad to see it end.
Shopping for our very own ‘skinny girl’.  Trying to get Mitch to endorse this semi-scandalous dress I want Lyn to wear for her San Diego Bachelorette.  Though he’s smiling, I did NOT get his OK.
One Comment on “1000 Gifts. Chapter 11. The End.”

  1. ryandroche says:

    lovin’ the new shades! maybe now kevin’s snake shop will become a reality?? ;o)


Leave a Reply

