I’ve waited all my life- Herig Wedding part 2

Friday July 15, 2011: Rehearsal Lunch…

Let’s preface this day by reminding everyone that the night before was Bachelorette Night.  Some comments and actions to follow can and should be blamed on this fact alone.  So lets just start by saying, it was hard to be up and presentable (and not to mention- in party planning mode) by ten thirty a.m.  So, when Ryan so graciously agreed to drive us to our Rehearsal Lunch venue and Rochelle again, used her GPS skills, we thought we were good.  We arrived in the general area, Seaport Village, us three ladies unloaded about 50 pounds worth of decorations and we were off (on foot) to Busters.  *sidenote- Jo said it was just up ahead.  So,about ten minutes of walking later, dripping sweat and on the verge of dropping our centerpieces in the middle of the road, I kind of nicely asked Jo, “Do you know where it is?”  to which she replied “Yes Danielle I know where it is, just not from right here.”  Okaaaaay. *We’ll call that bachelorette remnant #1.  Ha Ha!  Though that was funny, the point of the story is this: There are still kind people in the world.  Moments away from meltdown (me) a kind stranger offered to take my box from me… about 10 feet later another group of college students stopped in their tracks and took the rest of our things and we all paraded through Seaport Village.  I couldn’t help from snapping a few pictures to capture my shock and joy!

Lesson: Be a kind stranger, you never know just how much you could be blessing someone!

We arrived safe and sound with plenty of time to decorate, set out the amazing starfish cookies (compliments of my uber talented cousin Janelle) and for me to change my entire outfit due to the hot and sweaty walk around Seaport Village.

Mom and  Dad Herig threw a beautiful, special, huge (100 people big) and delicious Rehearsal Lunch to celebrate Mitch and Lyn.

The view would be hard to match.

So would Elle’s antics.  Including getting stuck by her head in the highchair and crying for one hour until she fell asleep in the corner.

With a lot of help from the above lady’s husband, Kurt and I created a slideshow for our Sis and Bro.  We wanted it to be special.  We wanted them to feel loved.  We wanted others to see what a perfect match they are.  Thanks Ryan for your advise and Cheers Mitch and Lyn to a love worth waiting for!

Ava would not let the afternoon go by without a picture with each guest of honor.  Even the little ones could sense that this day was the beginning of a very special weekend.  The afternoon was highlighted by the many kind words offered to the bride and groom on the eve of their Big Day!  It was apparent how much they are loved by their friends and family.  I cried.  I’d like to blame this on the Bachelorette Night (ya know, being tired and overwhelmed) but let’s be honest, I cried every time I rehearsed what I would say.  I had decided to keep it short and sweet- not lose it in front of a room full of people.  Then I got up there and figured, if ever there was a time to cry for these 2 this is it.  So I cried- not the pretty kind.

On a much lighter note.  Evey time I look at this picture I think WTF on many different levels.  So I will briefly explain, for the sake of remembering.  I got sweaty on my walk.  The spankx underwear I was wearing was giving me a stomachache. I asked Kurt to bring me a new outfit (dress, belt, shoes).  I went to the bathroom to change.  I realized that now I didn’t have any undies.  I just went with it, despite feeling very breezy in this flowy dress.  Kev walks up to me and asks how big my purse is? “What? Why?” He said his friend just returned a pair of his underwear to him (why that friend had his underwear and why they were being returned at the Rehearsal Lunch oddly never came up) and he didn’t know what to do with them.  I asked the only pressing question, “Are they clean?”  He said yes.  I asked to wear them.  He said sure. And that, my friends, is Bachelorette Night remnant #2!

I couldn’t resist just one Friends quote for my baby brother who might just love those Friends as much as me 😉

Chandler: You look great. I’m so glad we’re having this rehearsal dinner, you know, I so rarely get to practice my meals before I eat them.

Phoebe: Okay, what did we say was your one gift to us?

Chandler: No stupid jokes. I thought that was for the actual wedding.

Phoebe: Rehearse it!

Following the Lunch we headed to the venue (where we had the pleasure of waking up each morning of wedding  weekend) to rehearse.  Have you ever seen such a view? Or so many handsome dudes? (Dads, Groom, and Groomsmen)

It was just begging for pictures to be taken.

There was even a hot tub on site!  Our girl was loving our home last week!  Kurt too.  I can’t remember the reason for his face in the last picture. Maybe he was remembering that we’d have to come home.

JoJo’s Granola, Roche’s lap, being fed morsel by chocolate morsel- Elle was in heaven!

Oh, the lanterns.  Ava was delighted.  “Mom, it’s like Tangled!”

Everyone sat on this hill for hours- seriously hours the night before the wedding.  Beautiful.

One Comment on “I’ve waited all my life- Herig Wedding part 2”

  1. rochelle says:

    love, love, love both posts so far! can’t wait for the third installment ;o).


Leave a Reply

